Can source_dir be = Windows drive letter

Ask Questions or make comments about Mp3 Toolbox
GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Can source_dir be = Windows drive letter

Post by GC »

I have a folder on my main PC which has all my MP3s on it. I want to use the php script on my webserver. I have a network share set up on the webserver, set as Z:. So all my mp3s are in z:. Is it possible to point MP3 ToolBox to that drive, or must it be a folder on the same drive?
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

Just tried it here to one of my network shares and it worked fine :)
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Jay wrote:Just tried it here to one of my network shares and it worked fine :)
Cool! :)

Sorry to be trouble, but can you give me the syntax that I could use to do this? eheheh.. :D
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

just like any other drive

$source_dir[0] = "z:\";

if the root of the share has the mp3's recursive reading of the directories broke again before I released beta2 so should be fixed in beta3
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Jay wrote:just like any other drive

$source_dir[0] = "z:";

if the root of the share has the mp3's recursive reading of the directories broke again before I released beta2 so should be fixed in beta3
http://uhoh-boom.com/gc/mp3/

Crash, bang.. no dice. :(

Did I do something wrong?
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

sorry no I did,
use

$source_dir[0] = "z:/";

wrong slash
Last edited by Jay on Mon Aug 26, 2002 4:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Doh, I should have spotted that.. hehe.

No errors this time, but it can't find the mp3s.. hmm.
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

try removing the slash
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Jay wrote:try removing the slash
Nope.. :(

Weird.
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

and you have mp3's in the root directory of this share?
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Jay wrote:and you have mp3's in the root directory of this share?
Yes.

I have several directories below it, as well.
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

well as I said above recursing sub directories is borked, it will be fixed in beta 3. Actually upon reflection it just is saying that z: as a directory does not exist. So of course you won't see anything until it varifies the existence of your drive letter

I am trying to recreate your problem here but it just keeps working for me.

What version of PHP are you using. My test box is running PHP 4.2
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Jay wrote:well as I said above recursing sub directories is borked, it will be fixed in beta 3. Actually upon reflection it just is saying that z: as a directory does not exist. So of course you won't see anything until it varifies the existence of your drive letter

I am trying to recreate your problem here but it just keeps working for me.

What version of PHP are you using. My test box is running PHP 4.2
Ugh, I broke it good.. upgraded to PHP 4.2.2 and the latest version of my httpd.. now PHP doesn't like it.
-GC

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

looks like apache and/or php is misconfigured.
- Jay

GC
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 7:33 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Post by GC »

Okay, got it working again.. saved php.ini in PHP's root directory rather than Windows's directory. Doh.

Anyways.

MP3 ToolBox isn't working for me with PHP 4.2 or 4.2.2 which is installed now..

Made a second category, the root of mp3 toolbox.. it doesn't work either. I can download the mp3 in the root just fine, but it names it as mp3.mp3.. When I click listen it fails messily.. winamp tries to connect to http://www.uhoh-boom.com/gc/mp3/index.p ... 3&dir_id=1
-GC

Post Reply