Another stupid question

Ask Questions or make comments about Mp3 Toolbox
Post Reply
User avatar
MrMeaner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2002 10:45 am
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Another stupid question

Post by MrMeaner »

Is there anyway to have Mp3 Tool Box work off a m3u or a pls file instead of read right from the folders?

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

this has been requested however at this time it has not been added, others have done it with older versions of mp3toolbox so if you know much about PHP and M3U's you could probably easily modify it to do that.
- Jay

User avatar
MrMeaner
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2002 10:45 am
Location: Virginia
Contact:

Post by MrMeaner »

ok cool thanx I was thinking that it would ease my cpu usage since I have over 5000 mp3s.
It would also make the page load quicker

User avatar
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)
Posts: 2942
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:48 am
Location: Next Door
Contact:

Post by Jay »

well it's not the file system that is slowing things up, what it is is the header decoder, this feature goes through each of those mp3's as they are being displayed. I am working on a cache system to relieve this a bit. For now the easiest thing to do is to organize the mp3's displayed in mp3 toolbox into subdirectories so that during page loads it only has to work on a fraction of your collection at a time.
- Jay

Post Reply