What U need to Broadcast Mutile Speeds???

Talk about Audio On Demand or Streaming
Post Reply
hot977
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

What U need to Broadcast Mutile Speeds???

Post by hot977 » Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:23 pm

Hey guys, I remeber a while back there was a way to broadcast multiple streams ie one at 128, another at 56K, and last at 24K.. without using extra upload bandwidth... Please advise.. Thanks

stream staff
Stream Host
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:35 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by stream staff » Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:15 pm

if you have someone connected to your stream regardless of what bitrate it is.

it will still take upload bandwidth,

there is no known way of doing this.

nonstopvibe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: What U need to Broadcast Mutile Speeds???

Post by nonstopvibe » Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:09 pm

That would be WMS / Windows Media Services, when I held an account with streamsolutions I used to send up one WMA stream encoded in multiple bitrates. 80k/48k/16k as far as I know you cant send up a single multi-bitrate stream vis Shoutcast sadly, you have to stream each service or ... send you 128k up and use a cheap transcoding host to down sample, although I'm not sure if you lose extra quality thru transcoding :)

Currently I send out, 128k mp3 Stereo for both non-stop:VIBE & non-stop:GOLD and then for both again I send out a 28k AAC+ Stereo stream which seems to find favour with :

iPhone uses (CentovaCast proves this)

Users in countries with tighter bandwidth restrictions & lower internet use, i.e Slovenia, Romania etc ...

We're mainly music led on both services so that may explain why we get a high percentage of 28k users in foreign countries, they dont have to understand what we are saying ! And iPhone listeners, bring it on, I'm loving the idea that we're listed there. I think its wise friends not to write off your low bandwidth customers. Every little helps & how much does it really cost to send low bandwidth ? $5 a month ?

satishbhawra42
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: What U need to Broadcast Mutile Speeds???

Post by satishbhawra42 » Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:01 pm

f you have someone connected to your stream regardless of what bitrate it is.

it will still take upload bandwidth,

Post Reply