Online Radio Broadcasting- Legal issues

Talk about Audio On Demand or Streaming
HardcoreTB

Online Radio Broadcasting- Legal issues

Post by HardcoreTB »

Hey all,

First of all, I have to say that the information I have found here on the site has been extremely helpful and so, thank you.

That said, the only things I have yet to come across are any articles or other information concerning the legal end of online radio broadcasting such as copyright laws, where and how to obtain licenses (if needed), etc. Can anyone point me in the right direction (and hopefully not directly to a lawyer)?

-Hardcore
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)

Post by Jay »

well unfortunately I cannot disseminate advice on legal matters. I am not a lawyer. It would be quite unethical to do so, especially considering much of the laws surrounding Internet Radio are untested.
- Jay
HardcoreTB

Post by HardcoreTB »

I understand that giving legal advice would be unethical, I was more or less seeing if someone could just point me in the right direction.
Jay
Will work for food (Administrator)

Post by Jay »

well alot of that depends on your stream. What you expect from it or where you want to go with it.

There are so many options that it is almost impossible to imagine the things you can do in the way of royalties. It all depends on what it is you want to do.

As far as the legalities of streaming itself, if you don't want to muck with royalty crap get permission before playing or do not play music/work you have not been given explicit permission to play.
- Jay
tjo7987

Post by tjo7987 »

A simple lisencing solution would be swcast.net
RJ

Post by RJ »

You may also want to look at Loudcity. (www.loudcity.net)

They have the best licensing plan and quite flexible. Check them out.

Cheers

RJ
Sc-Pro
Stream Host

Post by Sc-Pro »